OFMBUSINESS
EN FR
04
Chapter 4

What chatters cost, and why operators move to AI

Chapter 4 / 7Published 2026-09-14Checked 2026-09-14Length 1888 words

Chatting is the part of this business that actually produces the money, and it is also the part that has a payroll. This chapter puts the published pay figures in one place, then does the same for the tools that are replacing them.

4.1What the job is

A chatter writes the direct messages on a creator account, in the creator's voice, and sells paid media inside that conversation. The fan does not know they are talking to an employee. Reporting from the Philippines describes workers handling up to 200 fans in an inbox and up to 50 creator accounts, with sales quotas that rose 25 percent within six months[2]. Fortune reported in 2024 that chatting accounted for over half of agency revenues[3]. The job is emotional labour on a sales target, run in shifts.

Definition

Chatter

A person paid to write a creator's direct messages and to sell paid media inside them, usually remotely, usually on a shift, usually on commission. Also called a chat operator or a sales chatter. The role has no official occupational code in France, the United Kingdom or the United States, which is why no government statistics office publishes a wage for it.

4.2What it pays, from public postings

Every row below was read on a public page on 14 September 2026, or comes from dated journalism. Nothing here is an estimate, and the spread between rows is the finding: there is no market rate, there are offers.

Offer as publishedStructureWhereDate
$1 to $3.50 / hourplus performance commission, rate not statedJob board listing, remote[4]Sept 2026
$450 / monthbase pay plus 5 percent commission, weekly paymentJob board listing[4]Sept 2026
$250 to $350 / weekstructure not statedJob board listing[4]Sept 2026
12 to 15 %commission only on chat sales, weekly payment, French speaking evening shiftJob board listing[4]Sept 2026
20 %pure commission on all sales, stated as no hourly rate and no base payJob board listing[4]Sept 2026
$450 / month + 3 to 5 %tiered commission, paid weekly by international transferAgency recruitment page[5]Sept 2026
$500 to $2,500 / monthhourly base plus commission, rate not disclosedAgency recruitment page[6]Sept 2026
under $2 / hour8 hour shift, five days a week, with sales targetsBBC News[1]Mar 2026
$3 / hourshifts up to 12 hours, six days a weekFortune[3]Apr 2024

Sources: individual job postings and agency recruitment pages read 14 September 2026; BBC News 11 March 2026; Fortune 5 April 2024. Full references at the foot of this page.

The BBC piece is worth reading in full because it carries the worker's own account. The same worker later moved to an agency with, in the article's words, "improved conditions and pay, though still less than $4 an hour"[1].

4.3The shift pattern is the real cost

An hourly rate on its own tells you nothing, because the thing being bought is coverage. Fans message at night and in other time zones, and a conversation that goes cold at 3am tends not to come back. Agencies that publish their rota describe three 8 hour blocks, for example 08:00 to 16:00, 16:00 to 00:00 and 00:00 to 08:00, worked four days on and two days off[6]. Others run 12 hour shifts with teams handing over so the inbox is never unattended[2].

Do the arithmetic on the rota rather than on the wage. Three shifts a day, four days on and two off, means more than three people per rotation before anyone takes a holiday or falls ill. That is the number that decides whether an account is profitable, not the hourly rate. Add recruitment, trial shifts, training on the creator's voice, quality checks and the handover notes between shifts, and the payroll line is larger than the wage line.

Not documented

Turnover is the number everyone in the industry talks about and nobody publishes. We found no news report, academic paper or regulatory document giving a churn rate for chatters. If you see a turnover percentage in a vendor deck, ask for the source. We do not have one, so we do not print one.

4.4Why salary sites are useless here

The normal reflex is to check a salary aggregator. It does not work for this job. Talent.com publishes 31,800 dollars a year for the title OnlyFans chatter in the United States, which looks like data until you read the sample size: one reported salary[7]. The shorter title chatter returns zero salaries on the same site. Glassdoor and ZipRecruiter pages for the role could not be read. The honest conclusion is in chapter 7: for this occupation, the aggregators have nothing, and a figure built on one data point is not an average.

4.5What the AI tools cost, as published

Operators are moving chatting to AI, and the published prices are the reason. The shape of the pricing matters more than the number: a wage is a fixed cost that runs whether or not a sale happens, whereas most of these tools price as a small monthly fee per creator plus a percentage of what the AI actually sells. That moves chatting from payroll to cost of sales.

ToolPublished entry priceCommission as publishedPlatforms named
OnlyChat$20 / creator / month
Premium $70
10 % on AI net revenue
15 % on Telegram
OnlyFans and Telegram[8]
GPTease$5 / week billed monthly, Pro
Power $10 / week
none publishedOnlyFans and Fansly[9]
Inflowwfrom $40 / creator / monthnone publishedOnlyFans and Fansly, CRM[10]

Sources: each vendor's own pricing page, read 14 September 2026. These are published list prices, not negotiated rates, and not an endorsement of any tool. Infloww is a CRM rather than an AI chatting product, and is listed here because it is the tool operators price against; its own homepage describes it as "The #1 CRM for OnlyFans and beyond", which is its claim about itself, and its published plans cover the agency case, multiple creator profiles, roles and shift scheduling[10].

4.6Read the vendor numbers as claims

Vendors publish performance figures. They are claims about their own product, and the site treats them as such, with the wording they use. Three examples, all read on 14 September 2026.

  • Vendors publish savings claims about AI chatting on their own pages, and the same vendor can show different percentages on different pages the same week. This site does not reproduce those percentages as figures: a saving published by a company about its own product is a claim, not a measurement, and it stays out of the tables here. The pattern is common enough to check on any vendor page you read.
  • OnlyChat publishes an unlock ratio of 43 percent and, unusually, defines it on its about page: "Of every 100 paid photos or videos the AI sends, 43 are unlocked. Cumulative platform statistic since launch, not a single account and not a comparison with human chatters."[11] A published definition is worth more than a bigger number without one, because it tells you what was counted.
  • GPTease prices the other way round: a flat weekly fee billed monthly, 5 dollars a week for Pro and 10 dollars a week for Power, with no percentage published, so its cost does not move with what the AI sells[9].
  • The same rule applies to limits. OnlyChat's own pages state that there is no free plan, that the platforms live are OnlyFans and Telegram with MYM described as coming soon under a public API agreement, and that its browser extension is distributed by the company rather than through the Chrome Web Store, with the reason given as "The Chrome Web Store rules exclude services intended for the adult industry."[11] A vendor that publishes its own constraints is easier to evaluate than one that publishes only its ceiling.

4.7What moving to AI does not remove

Setup, content and pricing stay with the operator. Vendors that describe their own onboarding say so: the persona, the media descriptions, at least two scripts and the price points have to exist before anything is switched on[11]. The platform rules do not change either, and they are not what most people assume: chapter 5 quotes the published texts. Nor does the commercial structure change: whatever writes the messages, the agency still has to agree a split with the creator, which is chapter 2.

The honest summary is that this is a change of cost shape, not a change of trade. The work that used to be a rota becomes a configuration, and the money that used to be a wage becomes a percentage. Both can be run badly. If you are deciding between the two, the arithmetic to do is the one in 4.3 against the one in 4.5, on your own account's revenue, not on anyone's stat tile. The middle position, keeping people on some conversations and automation on the rest, is chapter 6.

FAQQuestions people actually ask

How much does an OnlyFans chatter earn?

There is no reliable average. Public postings read on 14 September 2026 range from 1 to 3.50 dollars an hour with commission, to 450 dollars a month plus 5 percent, to commission only deals at 10 to 20 percent of what the chatter sells. Journalism puts the low end under 2 dollars an hour for an 8 hour shift, five days a week. Salary aggregators have almost no data on the job: Talent.com shows one single reported salary for the title and zero for the shorter title chatter.

How many chatters does a creator account need for 24 hour coverage?

Agencies that publish their rota use three 8 hour shifts, for example 08:00 to 16:00, 16:00 to 00:00 and 00:00 to 08:00, on a four days on, two days off pattern. That pattern needs more than three people per account once days off, holidays and sickness are counted. Other operators run 12 hour shifts with teams handing over in sequence.

Is AI chatting cheaper than a chatter team?

The published prices are lower, but they are not the same kind of cost. Chatter pay is a wage, paid whether or not a sale happens. AI chatting vendors mostly price as a small monthly fee per creator plus a percentage of what the AI sells, so the cost moves with revenue. Vendors publish savings of 80, 85 and 90 percent, and at least one vendor publishes all three numbers on its own pages, which is a good reason to treat any single figure as marketing rather than measurement.

What does the move to AI not fix?

Setup work, content, pricing and the writing itself. Vendors that describe their onboarding say the operator still supplies the persona, the media descriptions, the scripts and the prices before anything goes live. The platform rules also do not change: see chapter 5 for what OnlyFans and Telegram publish.

ApparatusSources for this chapter

  1. BBC News, Chris Vallance, "‘Icky and heartbreaking’: The $2 per hour worker behind the OnlyFans boom", 11 March 2026 (read through syndication: bbc.com blocks automated reading, so the quotes were checked on the syndicated copy)
  2. Rest of World, Michael Beltran, "A hidden network handles chats for OnlyFans stars. AI could soon take over", 20 August 2025
  3. Fortune, Alexandra Sternlicht, "AI is coming for the OnlyFans chat industry", 5 April 2024
  4. ofmjob.com, live chatter listings, read 14 September 2026 (individual postings cited in the table)
  5. ChatterApply, recruitment page, read 14 September 2026
  6. AROA Agency, "Hiring OnlyFans chatters", read 14 September 2026
  7. Talent.com salary page, "OnlyFans chatter", United States, read 14 September 2026
  8. OnlyChatAI pricing and about pages, read 14 September 2026
  9. GPTease, home page, pricing section, read 14 September 2026
  10. Infloww pricing page, read 14 September 2026
  11. OnlyChatAI, about page, unlock ratio definition, read 14 September 2026